Copying Blindly: The Halloween Saga

Dear Nii Kpakpo,

I’m about to write you one quick and very stern letter expressing my anger and bewilderment at some events that are going on everywhere in this country. This anger has to do with our Ghanaian attitude of copying blindly everything western.

Kpakpo, the other day I was saying on twitter that we are copying thing “wholestupidly” and one guy wanted to defend that other holidays such as Christmas, Easter, Valentine’s Day etc have also been copied.

Oh it is true that the world has become a global village where we have Ghanaians who have lived in the west and Europe coming back home with peculiar tastes and proclivities such as football, baseball and some particular cuisines.

Nii Kpakpo you should hear some old school mates of mine from the Giant Hills talk about the Boston Sox, New York Yankees, the Broncos and even last year folk were up late (some with dumSor) driving around trying to find a place to watch the Super Bowl.

Honestly I thought the super bowl was some big waakye container.

But back to my concern. Why are we copying western and European stuff that have nothing to do with us and leave our own African traditions in the dust and let the west and Europe come take them and polish them only for us to go back for them and celebrate them as foreign.

Honestly! It doesn’t make sense to me. 

But hey, do we even know where some of these European traditions come from and why they “celebrate” them?

Nii Kpakpo Thompson! I’m very angry and I’ll tell you why. I just had the final straw to this whole copying of traditions thing and it’s because of Halloween. Guess what the final straw is.

There is going to be a Halloween party in Kumasi.

My God! This is not to slight my friends or readers in Kumasi but then let me ask in all honesty how many people in Kumasi can pronounce the word “Halloween”?

Please if this is funny to you don’t laugh yet.

Kpakpo! So we Ghanaians are at it again. Another copying spree and this savanna boy awaits to hear the people in the Savanna also say they’re having a Halloween party and I’d conveniently ask them which costumes they intend to wear in this 36 degree at night heat.

Well, my anger is spent and I guess I had to pen it all down to get it out of my system.

There are bigger problems this country have to resolve and we’re thinking of Halloween parties.

As usual Nii Kpakpo we can only hope that the electricity company keeps on that light that’s supposed to be at the end of the tunnel.

Till I write again, keep clear head and take an apple a day (keeps the doctor and grey hairs away)

Your Cousin in Law
Savannah Boy

One thought on “Copying Blindly: The Halloween Saga

Leave a Reply

