First Aid

Dear Nii Kpakpn,

From the moment I took the pass I knew something spectacular was gonna happen. I had been feeling antsy all day and it even seemed like I had missed a few meetings.  It seemed as if the whole cosmos was scheming against me. 

But Yes! Typically I ignored the signs.

I went to the basketball court quite a bit late which has happened too often this week but then the other guys didn’t come early anyway which made it seem alright.

Firstly I took the whistle and for quite some time I was the referee. Sometimes on this court it’s more fun staying outside than going into the game because there are more laughs outside the game than inside when everything is going wrong and your teammates are on your neck for something you should not have done or done.

Nii Kpakpo Thompson it looks as if folk forget that at the end of the day it’s teamwork, companionship and getting a daily dose of healthy exercise.

But alas I was to get into the game and the inevitable was bound to happen. Africans have a proverb to wit that a blow inevitably yours shouldn’t be delayed.

Going into the game I played my role as a handler and distributor for some time. When the opposing team made a basket, a teammate stepped out of bounds to check the ball and it was passed to me.  I crossed the halfway line and seeing only two opposing members of the other team there I thought I could just fake past them and head directly to the rim.  That was my undoing.
My thought pattern could be likened to a movie I saw once of surfers seeing the sea waves like a tunnel. So I had a tunnel vision directly to the rim which went through the middle of the opposing players. I feint to one side, take a step, feint the other direction, fake a pass to my teammate and just when I step through the opposing players that’s when my lights go out.

BAM!

One of the players had stuck his arm out and the wrist bone had caught me directly on my chin. Immediately my tunnel vision was replaced by darkened yellow spots and it sent sharp pain into my head whilst my ears were ringing pretty loudly.  I was in excruciating pain.

My jaw was stuck and inasmuch as I knew I was screaming I couldn’t hear myself over the whining in my ears. What bloody pain. My mouth was filled with blood because apparently I had bitten my tongue and blood was oozing out. I was so disoriented.

I walked off the court and did a series of stretches to my face and I realized it was a bad knock and the whining in my ears could affect my balance so I just lay down and blocked my ear holes.  I could hear the rest of the players shouting my name and asking if I was alright but I didn’t want anybody near me.  Just wanted to lay down for at least 5minutes and cry out the pain.

Anyway it took a while and I gradually became fine even though it’s been a week after and the pain is still there.

Learnt one lesson though that it’s pretty important that as people who walk about everyday it is very crucial that we get the most basic knowledge and training on first aid. When such incidents happen, it is the first to arrive on the scene that makes all the difference. What whoever arrives first does is what will determine whether the injury will be a short term one or develop complications.  

In a global world such as we live in now information is key and there are sites online where people can teach themselves the most basic first aid in any everyday situations. Even if you don’t know ask somebody you think has an idea and have that first aid conversation. It sticks easier.

Well Nii Kpakpo, I know this letter is quite unconventional but I had to say what’s on my mind.

Let’s keep spreading the word and pray Ghana gets better.
Enjoy our motherland until I write again.

Your Cousin in Law
Savannah Boy

Leave a Reply

